What is Halal?

'Halal' is an Arabic word meaning 'permissible'. Generally in Islam, every object and action is considered permissible unless there is a prohibition of it in the Islamic scriptures. Halal is often used in reference to foods and drinks, i.e. foods that are permissible for Muslims to eat or drink under the Shari'ah (Islamic Law). The criteria specifies both what foods are allowed, and how the food must be prepared. The foods addressed are mostly types of meat and animal tissue.

The most common example of non-halal (or haram) food is pork (pig meat). While pork is the only consumer meat that cannot be consumed by Muslims, foods other than pork can also be haram.

Non Halal meat also applys to meet that dereif from animals that not been slaughtered in accordance to Islamic rites. These may include the more common meat such as chicken, beef, lamb , etc.  However all seafood is considered Halal unless tainted with non Halal food.

The Halal criteria apply to not only all foods, but as well as non-food items cosmetics and pharmaceuticals.

Other foods that are not halal for Muslims to consume include blood, and intoxicants and alcoholic beverages.

HalalanToyyiban means not only is allowed and permissible for consumption, but is hygienically handled and processed, and is safe and fit for human consumption.

Find Us

TQCSI Far East Sdn Bhd

D-2-12, Blok D The Ritz, PJU 8/2,
Bandar Damansara Perdana,
47820 Petaling Jaya,
Selangor, Malaysia
Tel: +603.7725.7151
Fax: +603.7725.7148

Affiliates

IAF  JAS-ANZ   IRCA   PSMB